Past Presidents

APIC presidents, officers, and board of directors are elected annually. Learn more about the APIC governance structure and current leadership, applying for leadership positions.

Patricia Lynch, a founding member of APIC, was APIC’s first president. She served two terms (1972 and 1973).

1972-73 Patricia Lynch RN, MBA
1974 Shirley Chewick RN
1975-76 Carole DeMille* RN
1977 Shirley Bradley*  
1978 Kathleen DeLuca RN
1979 Cheryl Cox  
1980 Kathy Holl RN, BSN
1981 Mary Jane Freeburn RN, CIC
1982 Jean Parret RN
1983 George Counts MD
1984 Ronnie Leibowitz RN, MA, CIC
1985 Robert Sharbaugh PhD, CIC
1986 Nancy Click RN, MA, CIC
1987 Lorraine Harkavy RN, MS, CIC
1988 Elizabeth Bolyard RN, MPH, CIC
1989 Darnell Dingle MPH, CIC
1990 Elizabeth Horan-Murphy* MT (ASCP), RN, MSN, CIC
1991 Betsy Palmer RN, MSN, CIC
1992 Vicky Zelenka RN, CIC
1993 Linda McDonald RN, MSPH, CIC
1994 Barbara Russell RN, MPH, CIC, ACRN
1995 Terrie Lee RN, MS, MPH, CIC
1996 Ava Lancaster RN, BSN, CIC
1997 Candace Friedman BS, MT (ASCP), MPH, CIC
1998 Frances Slater Feltovich RN, BSN, MBA, CIC
1999 Janet Franck RN, MBA, CIC
2000 Susan Slavish BSN, MPH, CIC
2001 Judith English RN, MSN, CIC
2002 Georgia Dash RN, MS, CIC
2003 Barbara Soule RN, MPA, CIC
2004 Jeanne Pfeiffer DNP, MPH, RN, CIC
2005 Sue Sebazco RN, BS, CIC
2006 Kathy Arias MS, MT, SM, CIC
2007 Denise Murphy MPH, BSN, RN, CIC, FAAN
2008 Janet Frain RN, CIC, CPHQ, CPHRM
2009 Christine Nutty RN, MSN, CIC
2010 Cathryn Murphy RN, PhD, CIC
2011 Russell Olmsted MPH, CIC
2012 Michelle Farber RN, CIC
2013 Patti Grant RN, BSN, MS, CIC
2014 Jennie L. Mayfield BSN, MPH, CIC
2015 Mary Lou Manning PhD, CRNP, CIC, FAAN, FNAP 
2016 Susan A. Dolan RN, MS, CIC, FAPIC
2017 Linda R. Greene RN, MPS, CIC, FAPIC
2018 Janet Haas RN, PhD, CIC, FSHEA, FAPIC